top of page
  • Writer's picturehik1901

RACE RELATIONS

Title

: RACE RELATIONS - The Struggle for Equality in America


Author

: Barbara, Diggs

The Contents of a Book

: This is a book about racism. It follows the evolution of race relations in America from the country's earliest beginnings to the present day. If you're interested in racism and equality, you'll enjoy this book!

Takeaway

: After reading this book, I was able to reflect on whether we could use the word 'equal' thoughtlessly and whether our society and the world was truly 'color-behind' on the grounds that our society now has relatively more racial equality than in the past. And as a member of a society and a global citizen I was also able to think critically about what role I should play and what value I should pursue as I look at the horrendous past and present racism issues.

I reflected on whether I unconsciously distinguished, treated, prejudiced, loathed, and discriminated someone by my own particular standards. I have to develop an attitude of understanding and respecting others without prejudice to carry out my work with a clear conscience when I become a teacher and teach students or carry out international work with various race in the future. However trivial prejudice it is, it makes people wear colored glasses. So, for this reason, I make myself a promise that I won't detest others without reasonable reasons and neglect someone's disgust and discrimination against others. I hope that my change will help people change and the world change.

Two Questions

: Why do people hate and distinguish what is different from themselves or something unfamiliar?

: What is your certain racial prejudice? And what can we do to make truly color-behind society?


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page