top of page
  • Writer's picturehik1901

The bears on hemlock mountain

Title

The bears on hemlock mountain


Author

Alice dalgliesh


The plot of a book

Bears may live in Hemlock Mountain. One day, Jonathan's mother asks Jonathan to bring an iron pot, and young Jonathan climbs Hemlock Mountain by himself at the request of his mother. Jonathan meets a bear while climbing Hemlock Mountain, but he uses his wits to solve the situation by himself and brings a cast iron pot safely.


Takeaway

I could clearly feel the reason why the author won the Newberry Award, and by vividly describing the feelings of fear and curiosity about the unknown, I was able to immerse myself in spite of the language differences.

As in Jonathan's case, self-imposed practice remains in memory for a long time, so when I became a teacher in the future, I thought I should provide opportunities for students to think independently and actively. Also, since it's scary to take on challenges on your own without anyone's help like Jonathan, I thought I wanted to become a teacher who nurtures students' self-reliance and gives them courage to take on the path they choose with confidence.


Question

1. Why does Jonathan keep repeating that there are no bears?

2.What did Jonathan learn from the errand?

3.What educational value can you get from this book?









12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page